Saturnshoops



A Christmas Resolution

Merry Christmas one and all!  and Happy Solstice, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and everything else while you’re at it!  It’s not  New Years yet, but i was thinking I’d take advantage of my time off school and make a Christmas Resolution instead.  I’m leaving for a family vacation in 10 days, but I’m gonna give myself a reason to not spend these next 10 days sitting on a couch.  I’m gonna learn a ‘trick’, a new hoopin’, move everyday for the next 10 days.  I’m gonna try my damnedest to, that is.   I’m begging for suggestions of moves to learn, but also for all your favorite tutorials.

This isn’t some I’ll start it tomorrow Christmas resolution, this started right away today! Yayyyy!!!

Today I learned an ‘Angel Roll’ or an Across the Chest roll if you’ve never heard it called that before.  A special thanks to  and her fantastic tutorial, found here.  I thought it was really helpfully, she does a fantastic job of breaking down the full move into smaller bits that are easy to understand.

And for the fun of it, a little video of my learning process.

Things I’ve Learned:

  • Careful with the off swing, thats where you loose control of your hoop, it gets off its plane and you beat yourself in the face.
  • Plant your feet. Dancin’ is one thing, but when you just move your feet just cause you don’t know what else to do you look like a goof.
  • Close your eyes, you don’t always need to see the hoop to know where it is, and it’ll stop you from watching yourself in the video as its recording.
  • Watching things in Slow-Mo is fun. Makes it easy to see exactly what your hoop is doing in each step of a move.

Hoopy Holidays,

Çaturn


Leave a comment